Boston Area Research Initiative


Robert J. Sampson, Henry Ford II Professor of Social Sciences, Harvard University


Christopher Winship, Diker-Tishman Professor of Sociology, Harvard University, and Member of the Faculty of the Harvard Kennedy School of Government

Research Director

Daniel O’Brien, Assistant Professor of Public Policy and Urban Affairs and Criminology and Criminal Justice, Northeastern University 

Senior Project Advisor

David Luberoff, Lecturer on Sociology, Harvard University and Boston Portal Co-Director, Harvard-Mellon Urban Initiative

Post-Doctoral Fellow

Ryan Qi Wang, Post-doctoral Fellow in Sociology, Harvard University and Data Analyst, ArtsBoston

Steering Committee

Nancy E. Hill, Professor of Education at the Harvard Graduate School of Education and Suzanne Young Murray Professor at the Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study

David Lazer, Professor, Department of Political Science and College of Computer and Information Science, Northeastern University

Rebecca E. F. Wassarman, Director of Academic Ventures, Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study